Continuing Education

Print Page

By Steven L. Whitehurst, M.D.

In order to keep their medical license, an anesthesiologist must complete 100 credit hours of Continuing Medical Education requirements (CME) in a two-year period. This generally runs from January 1 of an odd-numbered year through December 31 of the next even-numbered year.

There are two types of CME credits. Here is an explanation of Category 1 and Category 2 CME credits.

Of those 100 CME credits, 12 hours focus on Patient Safety and Risk Management, and they can either be Category 1 or Category 2. Overall, up to 80 CME credits can be Category 2.

CME Online Resources

The Pennsylvania Society of Anesthesiologists’ Continuing Education Committee has compiled a list of Internet-based resources to assist its membership in attaining CME credits. While there are thousands of hours of CME credits available online for little or no cost, this list focuses on sites related to Pain, Anesthesia or Patient Safety / Risk Management.

When you find other useful sites that are not on the list, please email them to the Education Committee and they will be added to the list. After you visit these sites, send the Committee your email feedback, which will be incorporated into evaluations of the site and added to the annotated list.

FREE Web Based Learning Modules

PSA Members may access Learning Modules developed by PSA members. Members interested in contributing to this resource are encouraged to contact the PSA Continuing Education Committee. 

Dental Injury in Anesthesiology – 2008
This link takes you to the University of Pittsburgh CME site where this module is offered free of charge to physicians. Start with the free registration. Once completed, print the CME certificate good for one hour of Category 1 credit. 

The Pennsylvania Medical Society has developed a useful tool (CME Tracker) for tracking your CME in each required category.


Physicians Protecting Patients